“Memories Back Then”

Commin back from  horseback ridding with 20 plus church kids yesterday, I felt both tired and youthful!

group

All I wanted to do when I got home was watch a movie and relax…I thought about watching my fav coming of age storyGrease” but decided to check out Netflix instead. I ended up watching two rights of passage movies by chance.

The first was “lol” and the other was “Girl in progress

Image

Both films took me back to my high-school days and made me a lil grateful to be past that confusing period in my life… but It also made me feel for my youngness who are in the midst of that very intense, important and impact-full time.  

The Problem 

I believe were in a day in age where especially young black girls aren’t able to fully experience and grow from this time because they have too many adult issues that they are dealing with….This often seems to be the manifestation of their parents lacking the very thing they are depriving their children from (love, attention, stability, security, reassurance, support,…)

The Result

A family cycle that leads to a life long journey of trying to fill a void with temporary solutions. After the movie I was cleaning listening to to my pandora and this very relevant song came on and inspired this post.

*Explicit Context*

“Then one day I just asked her
“Why you always give your ass up?
I mean damn these hoes get paid
All you do is get laid, this shit don’t add up.”
She said, “Tip, all I wanna do is feel love
Even if I know it ain’t real love
Even if I know a n**** only finna hit it
And then never call back, I still f***” 

The Solution

Commit to knowing the-self and loving the-self …Easier said then done right??? Well from what I hear nothing worth having comes easy.

ARE YOU WORTH IT???  If so join me on the “Self -Love Journey“! 

 Much 

PhenoMeJMarie

Leave a Reply

