Niggers & Blessings in 2013

Disclaimer:  I am blatantly using the N word to make a point. Not meant to offend but to educate

So hear me out…

Yesterday was a beautiful day! I was a proud youth leader as the kids in my church killed the flash Mobb performance, dancing to Yolanda Adams “I Believe” for youth day. And instead of a sermon, we had Guy, who is a refugee from Darfuri speak to the congregation about his experience.

So to say the least I was in a pretty positive place after leaving service…  About 2 minutes later I was called a “Nigger” for the first time in my 24 years of life .

I wasn’t mad though…I was more like, really my dude! I understand you yelling “watch the sign” but why you have to add “NIGGER” to the end of the sentence? How is that even relevant to my driving ability?? (Replay of my exact thoughts)

As I continued to drive home I figured I guess I was lucky for it taking this long for the word to be directed specifically to me.  Still taken aback I wondered… What does it mean to be called a Nigger  in 2013? … While the First family is currently Black!?!

           It means covert racism and mental slavery is some genius ish! And we need to open our eyes before we end up back in time!

To be called a Nigger in 2013 was a blessing for me because …

  1. It touched a nerve and evoked an emotion
  2. It sent a message to my soul saying this is not right
  3. It motivated me to act as a way of responding
Image

Actually hearing the word NIGGER… brought home the idea that mental slavery is so00 much more dangerous then being slaves in the field. It blinds us from the reality of our current situation and makes us complacent, content and comfortable with the uncomfortable.  Its why a majority of the black community is surviving instead of living.

It’s time we free ourselves from brokenness, illiteracy, systems, and dysfunctional family cycles.  Educate ourselves so we can be advocates for our community and let go of that Government “assistance” that has become our modern day master!

I’m tankful that white man felt compelled to call me a Nigger.  What homeboy didn’t know, was that I’m not your average N*****! Though he didn’t make me angry, he did fuel me to fulfill my purpose,  in educating these brown beauties out here that we STILL have work to do and something to prove!

We have to prove that…

  1. Our ancestors did not get jailed, beat, abused, raped and killed in vain
  2. We are capable of all things & no weapon formed against us shall prosper
  3. Our mind can beat their words if we are committed to educating it
  4. We deserve the best and we wont settle for less when it comes to justice

So thank you Mr. White man,  I was getting a little to comfortable in this utopian, liberal facade called Madison Wisconsin. I promise you every brown girl that crosses my path will have an opportunity to be apart of the REVOLUTION…And believe it will not be televised.

Run tell that!

When was the first time you were called the N word?

5 comments

  1. Our community is stuck in a place of complacency. To see this subject acknowledge and critically discussed will move us, as a whole, one step forward to breaking the chains of mental slavery. I, too, have had experiences like this. The most recent one I did not handle very well. Here is my question – How do we take these experiences and mold generations who do not have first hand experience with slavery and civil rights movements? What is your plan to enlighten black beauties?

    1. Well seeing as OUR generation does not have a first hand experience with slavery or the civil rights movement, I think we do for them what has been done for us…We keep them educated about their history and where they come from, because we wont know where were going if we don’t know where we have been. Where I think the problem lies is that we are forgetting how powerful of a people we are! We are getting caught up in cycles of relying on the government to help us instead of utilizing and strengthening our own communities. My plan is to instill worth back into my brown beauties so that they are able to feel whole and desire and believe in the possibility of their dreams.

  2. Sophomore Year after Homecoming parade…A Senior Student (with a confederate flag across the back of his truck) jumped off his truck pointed at me and called me a Nigger Bitch after a few people had been messing with his truck…(I was leaving People tutoring) another case of misplaced anger sprinkled with a racial slur…It was a huge ordeal…My dad took it to the Principal who was eager to dismiss it after the student told him he had called me a Wigger instead….When taken to school administration after long lags and non responses it was dropped and the young man Never saw any type of consequence for his action…

Leave a Reply

